The modern parish of Knockcroghery comprises the ancient parishes of Kilmain, Killenvoy, St.Johns and Rahara. Gaelic Games would appear to have been divided along similar parish lines since the foundation of the GAA in the area and probably long before. The Ballymurray team might be roughly equated with the old Parish of Kilmain, the Knockcroghery team with Killenvoy and the teams of St.Johns and Rahara with their own ancient parish boundaries respectively. Over the years, many amalgamations and splits have occurred, mostly along these old parish lines, with teams coming together and teams drifting apart.


The Formation of St.Domincs in 1973

St.Josephs and St.Patricks amalgamated in 1973 to form a new  club under the name of St.Dominics. St.Johns and Rahara held   their meetings in the old Courthouse, Lecarrow and St.Patricks met in the Old School, Knockcroghery. Representing St.Johns / Rahara were Jack Kirwan, Donald Feeley, Eamonn Beattie and Gerry Donnelly. Representing St.Patricks were Michael Cox, Tommy Fallon, Michael Craven and P.J. Beades. The meetings  were sometimes very heated but finally an agreement was reached. With one team now representing the parish a name for  the new club was needed. Agreement could not be reached on retaining the old name of St.Patircks. At this time Dominic Conway of Ballymurray was ordained Bishop of Elphin and in his honour the new Club was named St.Dominics.

This ushered in a new era with one club to represent the combined parishes. Like any amalgamation there were people on both sides  for and against but eventually it was agreed that amalagamation was the best option.

Officers of the newly formed St.Dominics were 

President:     Fr.Colm Feeney and Fr. Patrick Gearty
Chairman:    Jim Brennan
Vice Chairman:  Jack Kirwan
Secretary:         Eamon Beattie
Asst.Secretary:  Michael Craven
 Treasurer: P.J.Beades

To-day under the one name of St.Dominics the club participate in both Football and Hurling at Senior and Minor level, Scór (Scór na nÓg, Scór Sinsear), Camogie and Ladies Football

 The St.Dominics’s Crest represents the different features of the parish

The Oak leaf   – The Oak wood in St.Johns
The Windmill  – Rahara
The Clay Pipe – The old pipe industry for which Knockcroghery is famous
The Cup          – The Sam Maguire that came to Knockcroghery on two occasions

The Crest was designed by Siobhan Weir

The Front Cover of “Passion for Play” which was launched on the 20th of November 2011 in St.Johns Community Centre. The book was four years in the making and is a comprehensive account of Gaelic Games in the Knockcroghery Area from 1884 to 2009.


History Committee: (L-R)
J.J. Weir, Donald Feeley (Chair), John Murray, Eileen Fallon (Sec), Edward John Beattie, Liam Byrne, Tommy Fallon,

Missing from Photograph:  Anne Connaughton